• Joel Parkinson won the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Friday, 12 December, 2008. Vans Triple Crown of Surfing. Billabong Pipeline Masters, Banzai Pipeline, North Shore, Oahu, Hawaii.

ASP World No. 4 Joel Parkinson (Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Aus) (pictured) won the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing today by reaching round 4 of the Billabong Pipeline Masters where he was defeated by Timmy Reyes (USA).

Parkinson finished equal fifth at both the O’Neill World Cup of Surfing at Sunset Beach and the Reef Hawaiian Pro in Haleiwa eclipsing his closest rival, Billabong Pipeline Masters runner-up Chris Ward (USA) who needed to win today’s event to take the title from Parkinson.

The Billabong Pipeline Masters is the final stop on the ASP Men’s World Tour and includes 64 surfers, 40 of which are ASP World Tour competitors, the rest of the field is comprised of five replacement surfers, three event nominated wildcards, 14 Pipeline specialists, one Tahitian invitee and one Vans Triple Crown contender.  The event provides the last opportunity for ASP World Tour surfers to cement their spot on the 2009 ASP World Tour.

Photo Credit: ASP Kirstin © Covered Images
Photographer: Kirstin Scholtz